Your opinion needed

So, from the looks of things, we’re going to have a baby in a few weeks. As we live “overseas” (though I prefer to think of it as our family living overseas, but I guess it’s a matter of perspective), we’d like to set up an account on one of the free photo-sharing Web sites out there.

Here’s where you come in. Please let me know in the comments if you use one of those sites, what you like best and least about it and whether or not you would recommend it to someone else. And if you’re using an alternative instead, let us know if that works well for you, too.

5 responses to “Your opinion needed

  1. I have used Picasa and Shutterfly. Good luck!

  2. I use Snapfish. I can share the pics I download, order them, and any family member who want copies can order them as well.

  3. I’ve been messing around with shutterfly, hoping to make one of those funky printed fake scrapbooks sometime soon.

    Personally, I really like it when people share on facebook, b/c then I see right away when they post stuff.

  4. There is nothing better than Picasa. Seriously. And I’ve used them all. With Picasa (powered by Google), you have to download a piece of software onto your computer, but it allows you to manage all of your pictures on your computer very nicely and then enables you to upload pictures very easily (and it’s linked to your gmail account – isn’t everything these days?).

  5. We use dropshots. One thing I really like about dropshots (dont know if you can do this from the others or not) is that family far away can just right-click on the image to download the entire image to their computers. I think some of the others only let you download the image shown, which is of much less quality.
    We also use its Start account option, paying $5 a month for unlimited pictures, as well as unlimited videos under 10 minutes. Doesn’t matter the size of the video (quality) as long as the length is 10 or under. This I’ve also found to be a real boon. Easy to load up, although they are only sorted by date.

Leave a comment