Prenatal graduate

Today, I had my last real doctor’s appointment. I also had another growth scan this morning.

Everything looks good. The baby is estimated at 3.2 kilo, or 7 pounds, and I’m told this is perfect for where I am in gestation. I have the right amount of amniotic fluid. And her movements are still frequent. Still no real contractions to speak of.

My iron is also going up (and this is before the recent diligence with taking my pills), which the doc said was impressive given that the baby is taking more iron from me now. He said it was evidence that I was taking my pills as prescribed; the hubby almost blew it here by laughing, but managed to contain himself. I covered nicely and asked for another prescription since I should allegedly be running out of pills in a couple days.

And my platelets are fine for an epidural. Oh happy day!

From here on out, I go to the women’s center for followup care twice a week if I fail to give birth within the next 10 days. At that point, they’ll do a scan to monitor the baby’s growth (I’ll be induced before she gets too big) and put me on a monitor for a while (not sure if this is to monitor any contractions or fetal stress – maybe both?).

What’s weird is that I thought I would still have a few more appointments. It would appear that this doctor actually expects me to give birth in the next week or so. I guess that makes sense. And yet, it still seems really hard to grasp. I’m back to feeling just fat instead of pregnant and have still failed to understand that there’s a little person inside me. Maybe you never really get there?

The un-nesting is still in full effect. I bought the coolest drill in the whole wide world last night and have since been perforating our walls. Between appointments and lunch with a friend today, I also hung a shelf in the baby’s room, curtains in the baby’s room, curtain brackets in the bedroom (wrong size rods – damn) and a couple organizing thingees in the kitchen. Next up is the bike racks in the storage room downstairs.

And we brought up and sorted our good china. And found a lawyer to draft a will, a power of attorney for medical stuff and to establish a guardian for the baby. And we got quotes on life insurance.

Actually, maybe we’ll just take the night off and have dinner and watch a movie. Which reminds me, I need to make cornbread for dinner to go with the rice and bean casserole…

The more things change, the more they stay the same. Let the waiting game begin.

5 responses to “Prenatal graduate

  1. 3.2 is a good size. If it’s accurate, then you still have another two weeks to deliver someone about Kinneret-sized (at birth, not her size now), which can apparently be done without stitches if you’re really lucky and have a good midwife.

    I think this is the week Jeremy should ask for Pticha (opening the ark – for those not in-the-know, it’s an honor to open the ark, and it’s supposed to be a sign for a good opening/dilation.)

  2. You are going to have to teach me to cook/bake someday…

  3. seriously, your dinners always sound terrific. and you are really on the ball.

    If Jeremy’s in shul I’ll make sure he gets asked for Pticha if he wants it. I’m not real big on the symbols, but it can’t hurt šŸ™‚

  4. Enjoy the last few weeks and hope the baby just pops out without giving you any trouble.

    Because, apparently, that happens just ALL the time. šŸ™‚

  5. Gila – sure it does, if you happen to live in a movie.
    And I’m revising my prediction to September 10th, my mom’s birthday šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

