Bitten by the bug

The siren song of triathlon is playing again for me. No, I’m not planning on doing anything stupid between now and delivery day. I am saving all my stupidity for shortly thereafter.

You see, Israel has very few triathlons that aren’t on Shabbos. As in, two. Of the two, only one of them is held at a time of the year when one would actually want to exercise outside in Israel (February). And that one is an amazing “long course” race in Eilat in late February. So the only real question is:

Do I try to train for a long-course race (1.2 mile/2 km swim, 56 mile/90 km bike, and a half-marathon – 13.1 mile/21 km run) for February 2009?

Or do I try and train for my first iron-distance race (double the numbers above) for February 2010?

Or both? Or neither? Do we plan a trip to Europe just to race there instead? Have I mentioned how hilly Europe is?

5 responses to “Bitten by the bug

  1. I actually know a bunch of people who do these things. Why, I can’t fathom. I’d much prefer expending energy on the couch turning pages. But I do know people who do these things, some of them shomer shabbat, and some even slightly close by. Call me during the day sometime when I have my work email open and I’ll send you some phone numbers.

  2. I just want to know if you’re planning to train with a jogging stroller…

  3. Yes, probably going to need a jogging stroller. And a little towing carriage for the bike. As for the swimming, she’s just going to have to suck it up and learn to do laps at a young age. šŸ™‚

  4. OMG…I give you a lot of credit for even thinking about this now! Good luck!

  5. We have a cousin who just ran to Eilat. I thought she meant “run” as in “I’m just running to the store.” But no, apparently she meant “run” as in she just ran 8 bajillion miles through the desert in July to Eilat.

    And I suggest baby scuba gear.

Leave a Reply

