Guilty

I am a bad blogger. After receiving a couple comments and a few emails asking me if I had fallen off the face of the earth, I thought it was only right to post some sort of update.

If only there were something to update! My life is very boring, and for once, I kind of like it that way.

I’m still here. Still preggers. Chugging along nicely at 34 and some odd weeks. I get a little bigger everyday, but for the most part, I’m still able to do all the things I need to do.

I have gotten permission to work the remainder of the pregnancy from home, mostly in an attempt to prevent cankles. At home I can keep my footsies up and take a nap here and there as needed. By 9 a.m. or so here it’s about 85-90 degrees outside, so chilling at home in the A/C has been a real boon for me.

I went golfing on Tuesday (okay, not a proper round but a couple hours at the driving range, chipping area and putting green). Despite a little soreness in my shoulders (which likely has much more to do with having not golfed in a year and less to do with pregnancy), I’m no worse for wear. It was great to get out of the house and do something vaguely athletic. The hardest part was putting the ball on the tee each time. You get some really great looks when you’re rather rotund and insist on carrying your own bag of clubs around.

I had the pleasure of welcoming another blogger to Israel last week. ProjGen made aliyah to our little town of Modiin, Israel, and it’s been great fun to help out where we can. It’s amazing how much difference a year makes.

In our free time, we’ve been trying to prepare for the upheaval that is bringing home a newborn. The nursery is finished and I’ll try and get it together enough to post a photo soon. All the baby gear is assembled and in working order. The kitties have already laid claim to the pack and play and the crib, while the dog is quite fond of the rug in the baby’s room. We have a name picked out. And I’m registered at Hadassah Ein Kerem in Jerusalem. All of her laundry, blankets and diapers have been laundered and are ready to go.

I have yet to pack a bag. Tips welcome. Part of the problem is that I fit into relatively few pieces of clothing right now, so I’m reluctant to stow any of them away. I might stuff some toiletries and a couple magazines in a bag soon though.

I have an appointment and growth scan next Monday, when I’ll be 35 weeks. To the best of my knowledge, I’m not having any contractions (Braxton Hicks or otherwise) and I’m guzzling the water to keep early labor at bay. I try to be good about taking my iron pills. And most nights, I’m still able to get a good night’s sleep.

Let’s hope it stays this easy to the very end. Given how badly things started, this is so much more than I could have ever hoped for.

3 responses to “Guilty

  1. I didn’t pack clothes at all, just socks and undies – I think my husband brought me something to go home in.

  2. Wow, you must really trust your husband. If I asked mine to do that, I’d end up with a football jersey and winter boots. Suffice it to say I do the packing for us. 🙂

  3. And it’s been great fun to be helped 😉

    And we’re oh-so-excited to be here for BeeGee’s arrival! Although I fully expect to have to elbow Rona if I want to have *any* face time with the babe. heh

Leave a Reply

