Maybe that’s the problem

Just back from the quasi-emergency room. Two bags of IV fluids later, I’m feeling a bit better.

And the comment about the vomiting was a bit premature – I puked twice at the clinic.

I have ridiculously high levels of sugar in my urine. 1000 mg/dl. Roughly four times the borderline for what is considered gestational diabetes. And I appear to have the other risk factors down pretty well too: always thirsty, rapid weight loss and constant fatigue.

And we won’t mention those coupla years as a kid where I was told I had Type 1 diabetes and was on insulin for about two years. I thought those were a fluke. I admit, later docs did tell me I would almost certainly have GD, but I kind of wrote it off. I was planning on telling my doc at my first real appointment this Wednesday.

Or tomorrow. Tomorrow’s good too.

So, it looks like we’ll be going for an emergency appointment tomorrow morning to figure out what the hell is going on inside me. At the ripe old gestational period of 11.5 weeks, I’m getting tested for gestational diabetes.

My take on this? You’ve got to be fucking kidding me.

2 responses to “Maybe that’s the problem

  1. That sucks…I’m sorry, but at least you’re doing okay now and they can do something about it. Good luck tomorrow.

  2. Ayiyi! That totally sucks. After your last post, you must at least be relieved to have an answer, though. I hope that you can manage it with diet, and that you won’t need insulin. Good luck, and keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

