Second thoughts. I haz them.

Nothing has actually made me miss living in the U.S. Until I got pregnant. And started craving things.

The cravings are not weird (I don’t think) but they know no time limits (yum! kettle corn at 6 in the morning!) and they are amazingly strong. Unlike anything else I have ever had.

The hubby is quite glad we a) do not own a car and b) live in a place where eateries and grocery stores close at night and do not reopen until morning.

I don’t actually want them (or at least I don’t think I do) but I think I might just give my left elbow for a giant plate of huevos rancheros smothered in green chile. Like the ones I used to get at Little Anitas in Albuquerque. And a big bottle of Orange Crush. Yum. Orange soda and chile. Okay. Maybe a little weird.

Or a big ass breakfast burrito from Dos Hermanos (also in ABQ). With beef. And cheese. I know, not kosher. But it sounds so good right now.

Such things do not exactly exist in Israel (okay, maybe the orange soda does – but they do not know from refried beans to the best of my knowledge). And the parasite mostly craves Israeli stuff anyway – falafel, shwarma, hummus, etc. It is a sabra at heart. I am just hoping it will teach me the Hebrew.

Mexican food would just make me vomit. Most things do. Pregnancy is by far the least sexy thing I’ve ever done – which is saying something for a girl who played ice hockey.

Go eat some for me. πŸ™‚

PS – And sopapillas. Don’t forget the sopapillas from Gardunos. With oodles of honey.

4 responses to “Second thoughts. I haz them.

  1. I hear you 100%. Being pregnant and far away from the once-ordinary foods that one craves with an abiding passion is torturous indeed.

    However, one of the things I craved was falafel, so I’m jealous of your easy access. πŸ˜‰

  2. I do think they sell canned refried beans, but I must admit I have no idea what they are…

    I’m still waiting for the price of strawberries to come (way) down. I don’t actually crave them, I just like them πŸ™‚

  3. i spy canned refried beans at mega πŸ™‚

  4. I can make my version of tacos for you. They’re probably nothing like what tacos are supposed to be, but they’re yum!

Leave a Reply

