The Wife of Bath’s tale

This is a somewhat serious post. Cause I found out I’ve been doing a bad thing.

When you’re pregnant, you’re supposed to avoid really hot baths, hot tubs, saunas, heating pads, electric blankets, love, warm breezes and anything else that might remotely improve the lower back pain you feel in those first few weeks.

For the record, the theory behind this (to the best that I can figger) is that all of these lovely devices raise your core temperature. Anything above 102 degrees is a problem and can result in everything from hemorrhages to miscarriages to birth defects to comfort to hard-boiled embryos (which are not kosher).

I still take long, luxurious baths. Following the advice of a former OB/GYN, I bought a bath thermometer that you use for babies (to make sure the water isn’t too hot) and I always keep the temp low. Just for kicks, I took my temperature the other day while I was in the tub in an event to clear my mind of any worries that I might be bathing in water that was too hot. For the record, the water was 98-99 degrees. Not much warmer than the 98.6 that humans are supposed to be.

Imagine my surprise when my temperature came back: 101 degrees.

I don’t know if this was contributing to the bleeding in my uterus. I do know that I was completely flummoxed that what I thought was a really moderate temperature would still cause my body to run so hot. So it’s no more baths for me for awhile. Any cooler and I wouldn’t enjoy them (I only took the temps to begin with because I thought it was so cold that I was going to add more hot water).

It’s the Wife of Shower’s tale from now on.

4 responses to “The Wife of Bath’s tale

  1. Perhaps that explains some things… The summer I became pregnant with my youngest I was teaching swimming in Germany at an indoor pool. After 3 hours of screaming children, sitting in the sauna until my pen got too hot for my hands to hold was my reward. I did that for several weeks during my early pregnancy. This was in the days before we knew it was dangerous. Perhaps that explains her strange sense of humor.

  2. The bleeding is just something that happens. I’ve read several explanations (most have to do with implantation) but basically it just happens sometimes. Having had it in 3 out of 6 pregnancies (though in one it was huge – the size of my fist, early in the pregnancy – and I did lose that pregnancy, but that was also after an initial beta of 29) I think it’s just one of those things that we see more now because of the early ultrasounds – not really anything to worry about, especially when it’s small… (and I’ve read research, I’m not just saying that).

    Enjoy the showers ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. First of all – congratulations!!! (I was away on holiday and am just catching up.)

    Rachinbar is right – sometimes bleeding *just happens* in early pregnancy.

    I have been using a pretty hot heating pad on my back, but only for a short amount of time – 10 minutes or so. It helps. I think that it’s the period of time which you soak which is what raises your core temperature.

    Showers, I suppose, are better than nothing, right?

  4. Sounds like its showers from now on! How did you manage to have enough hot water in the winter for a long bath? I recall alot of cold showers in the winter when I lived in Israel.

Leave a Reply

