Take two, they’re small

Since I’ve already gotten four e-mails asking me why I think it’s twins, here’s my logic.

If you’re bored, travel on over to a nifty site called BetaBase.info. Women who are pregnant put in their betas, the number of days after LMP that they got them, whether there was a heartbeat and whether they had IVF, IUI, etc.

The key point? They also say whether they had a singleton or multiples.

It is assumed my beta was on day 16 after ovulation. At most, it could have been day 18. No more than that, according to bloodwork and ultrasound and really, even that is pushing it.

The average for a singleton pregnancy 16 dpo is 249. The average for multiples is 422. For the record, mine was 672.

Assuming they are dating the pregnancy wrong, the average for a singleton pregnancy 18 dpo is 543. The average for multiples is 853.

Either way, my numbers are high. That’s why I’m going with twins. πŸ™‚ Should be fun. Might try and push for a Friday ultrasound, if I can conquer my fear of the shower. And my fear of seeing bad things or not seeing anything at all.

6 responses to “Take two, they’re small

  1. A shower might actually help your breasts feel better – I know it helped me when I was nursing – the hot water can calm things a bit. I’m with you on the twin theory as well. Are they making you do a second beta test? Best of luck whenever the ultrasound is.

  2. So far no second beta. When I asked, it was kinda a “well, it doesn’t matter since we’ll see it on the ultrasound.” Which is true. But man, that makes it tough waiting. πŸ™‚
    Thanks for all the positive thoughts!

  3. I tend to agree that a second beta is unnecessary and would actually be more stressful than not doing it…

    I also must say that I am probably at least as excited about this as you are πŸ˜€

  4. Wowie. Kirby! I hadn’t caught up with your blog until tonight b/c things have been far too busy here, but how amazing! I’m so happy for you! B’Sha’ah Tovah!

  5. Came on by from Mel’s Lost and Found…congrats on the ++! Great beta number too, what a lovely belated Chanukah present. With my youngest, my first beta at either 16, 17 or 18dpo (wasn’t exactly sure which day “o” was since we, like you, shockingly got pregnant from actually having sex!) my beta was 1,333, and it was a singleton πŸ™‚ Congrats again, may your next 36 or so weeks be happy and healthy ones!

  6. Congrats! My beta around what I’m guessing was 18dpo (I had a surprise knock-up from a good old-fashioned shag myself) was in the 2800s. I have a singleton- just a nice, strong sticky one…

Leave a Reply

