Stolen, lock stock and barrel

I stole the book meme. It was not passed to me. But I thought it would be fun.

The general idea is you mark whether you’ve read, not read, loved or hated a book from the list. For my list, read is bold, not read is plain and the comments are marked in parentheses.

Here goes:

1984
The Aeneid
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay
American Gods

Anansi Boys
Angela’s Ashes : A Memoir (loved it and loved Tis)
Angels & Demons (best of his books)
Anna Karenina
Atlas Shrugged
Beloved
The Blind Assassin
Brave New World
The Brothers Karamazov
The Canterbury Tales
Catch-22
The Catcher in the Rye
A Clockwork Orange
Cloud Atlas
Collapse : How Societies Choose to Fail or Succeed
A Confederacy of Dunces
The Confusion
The Corrections
The Count of Monte Cristo
Crime and Punishment
Cryptonomicon
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time (loved it)
David Copperfield
Don Quixote
Dracula
Dubliners (a significant portion of my life I will never get back)
Dune
Eats, Shoots & Leaves (loved it, and its sequel)
Emma
Foucault’s Pendulum
The Fountainhead
Frankenstein
Freakonomics : A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything
The God of Small Things
The Grapes of Wrath
Gravity’s Rainbow
Great Expectations
Gulliver’s Travels
Guns, Germs and Steel: The fates of human societies
A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius (loved it)
The Historian: A Novel
The Hobbit
The Hunchback of Notre Dame
The Iliad
In Cold Blood : A True Account of a Multiple Murder and its Consequences
The Inferno
Jane Eyre
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell (on my list, somewhere)
The Kite Runner (am trying to get my hands on a copy in English)
Les Misérables
Life of Pi : A Novel
Lolita (read this when I was way too young in my opinion)
Love in the Time of Cholera
Madame Bovary
Mansfield Park
Memoirs of a Geisha
Middlemarch
Middlesex
The Mists of Avalon
Moby Dick
Mrs. Dalloway
The Name of the Rose
Neverwhere
Northanger Abbey
The Odyssey
Oliver Twist
On the Road
The Once and Future King
One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (saw the movie, surely that counts)
One Hundred Years of Solitude
Oryx and Crake : A Novel
A People’s History of the United States : 1492-present
Persuasion
The Picture of Dorian Gray
The Poisonwood Bible : A Novel
A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
Pride and Prejudice
The Prince (as in Machiavelli, right?)
Quicksilver
Reading Lolita in Tehran : A Memoir in Books
The Satanic Verses
The Scarlet Letter
Sense and Sensibility
A Short History of Nearly Everything
The Silmarillion
Slaughterhouse-five
The Sound and the Fury
The Tale of Two Cities
Tess of the D’Urbervilles
The Three Musketeers
The Time Traveler’s Wife (loved it, but cried my eyes out)
To the Lighthouse
Treasure Island
Ulysses (again with the James Joyce)
The Unbearable Lightness of Being
Vanity Fair
War and Peace
Watership Down
White Teeth
Wicked : The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West
Wuthering Heights
Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance : An Inquiry Into Values

Mind you, I went to a very snobby boarding school that prided itself on kids reading crap to improve their SAT scores.

That said, the hubby and I sat down a few years ago and agreed we’d love to read the whole Western Canon over the period of a lifetime, so we’re plowing through it bit by bit.

Feel free to tag yourself for the meme. It’s kind of fun. What would you add to the list? I’d think Harry Potter would merit a spot. And that Shakespeare guy. He wrote some stuff.

What’s the best book you’ve read recently?

5 responses to “Stolen, lock stock and barrel

  1. I would be *way too embarrassed* for anyone to know how few books I read… I was good at faking my way through literature tests though. I just had trouble getting through a lot of the books (e.g., A Tale of Two Cities) which I just found terribly boring.

    I remember my mom asking my brother what the sequel to Madame Bovary was… and the answer…

    Madame Buterus…

    OK, well that’s my mom for you 🙂

  2. Mary Ellen and Steve

    Middlesex…If you haven’t read it I highly recommend it.

  3. Just finished a couple of really good books:

    Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

    The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson

    Oh, and read anything by Bill Bryson (A Short History of Nearly Everything; A Walk in the Woods)!

    P.S. I heart Rachel’s mom!

  4. LOVED A Time Traveler’s Wife. I read it straight through, and the second I finished it, I started it again from the beginning.

  5. I would highly recommend A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving – if you haven’t yet read it.

Leave a Reply

