The Haiku Meme

So, I’m starting a meme. Never done it before, just felt like the time.

Here’s the deal. You write a haiku to describe your IF/latest cycle/you name it. It can be deep and emotional, or snarky and bitchy, or just downright funny.

A haiku is a 17 syllable poem in three lines: the first and third lines have five syllables each, the second line has seven.

Mucus shows up too late,
Ovulation is moot now,
My ovaries suck.

or

Infertility
means losing a loved one you
never got to know.

or

If I could save one
person in a shipwreck, it
wouldn’t be my doc.

or

Clomid, I hate you.
You turn me into Satan,
but yield no babies.

or

Stupid OPK!
“User! Your ovulation is
imminent!” my ass.

It’s fun. Have a go!

I tag ProjGen, Mel @ Stirrup Queens and the fabulous Rachel Inbar!

But you don’t have to wait to be tagged or have a blog! Post your gems in the comments. Maybe Mel will be kind enough to do a roundup of the best on Friday?

9 responses to “The Haiku Meme

  1. I posted one on my blog. Very therapeutic!

  2. Thanks for the tag! Yours are soooooooo hilariously funny (OK, the ones that are meant to be funny).

  3. I haved to write my own!

  4. The Town Criers

    I would loooooooooove to put it in, and I’m going to kick off the roundup with my haiku. The tone will depend on whether or not I ovulate this cycle…

  5. That’s so funny! Especially the shipwreck and OPK ones.

    Bea

  6. Aw, you took the best ones! šŸ™‚

    Okay, I’ll see what I can do…

  7. Awesome! I’m going to join in on the fun!

  8. Great idea for a meme! Thank you! I enjoyed reading yours and writing my own. Now I am going to read everyone elses! =)

  9. Kirby – I was tagged by projgen and did one. What a great meme. Much better than the standard listy ones.

    http://www.journeytothecentre.com/weblog/2007/07/today-i-was-tag.html

Leave a Reply

