I’ve been tagged!

Thanks to Rachel Inbar for tagging me!

Here are 8 arbitrary things about me:

1. I was one of those people who always knew what they wanted to be when they grew up — for me, a journalist. I’ve been doing graphic design for years, with some Web design and marketing mixed in for fun. Lately, I’m working as a metro desk editor and a weekly section editor, in addition to Web programming. Not sure what I’ll do when we make aliyah — I’m applying to work for the AP in the Jerusalem bureau, but who knows. Technical writing really appeals to me. I’d like to get my masters in computer science/engineering.

2. I am a perfectionist. Because of that, I have a hard time getting some projects done. I always want to do them just right. If I can’t organize my home just so, then it stays a mess. This has been a difficult issue to reconcile with infertility where I am so wholly not in control.

3. I went to boarding school for high school.

4. I wasn’t raised with religion, slowly became immersed in Judaism and am now working toward an Orthodox conversion. My husband is too. I wouldn’t call us unique, but at least it’s uncommon. Our families have been rather kind about it, but they pretty much think we’re crazy.

5. We’re making aliyah to Israel on July 30. I’m not really worried about all of the things that most people think would be scary about moving to Israel: terrorism, bus bombings, etc. I am just worried about learning Hebrew and getting a job. I am fluctuating between ecstatic and scared shitless.

6. I was a total tomboy as a kid and pretty much through early adulthood. I played a ton of sports, including playing for years on a boys’ ice hockey team. I also tried out for the first Olympics womens’ team. My high school friends can’t imagine me as a straight-laced religious girl.

7. I’ve never been close with anyone in my family except my mum. She died when I was 21. While no one will ever fill her place, I’ve been fortunate to have amazing friends and a husband in my life that have certainly filled a part of that void. I’m hoping that we will one day have children of our own as well.

8. I have a downright scary level of pain tolerance. While it is a blessing in many cases, it has gotten me in trouble a couple times when I was reluctant to go to a doctor since it didn’t seem “that bad.” The triathlon story was one example. The best was when I had an exposed nerve after a botched wisdom teeth removal. It was that way for a week before I went back to the doctor. I lost 17 pounds in seven days. The nurse actually wet herself. She had never seen anything like it before.

That said, I can’t handle nausea. Tummy problems lay me out.

I tag ES from Subfertile Sadness and Amy at So When Will You Have Kids?.

*****

In other news, today is CD1. 😦 Boo!

One response to “I’ve been tagged!

  1. Whoo! I’ve never been tagged before. So exciting!

Leave a Reply

