Wait, what?

Mel at Stirrup Queens has a post that shines a little light on something I didn’t know.

Caveat emptor: I am the youngest and my SIL is a SAHM, so I’m not privy to what actually happens when you have kids. As in, after they get here.

All I know I learned from Julie.

So go read it. It’s okay. I’ll wait. Just please come back ’cause I have questions.

I don’t know which scary place Mel lives in (I think NY?), but in that bad place they take babies away from there parents when they are really little.

As in, before they turn 5.

And before you all flame me, I’m not being sarcastic.

While this may be the bliss that ensues when you have no reasonable risk of reproducing, let me just go on record as saying: I don’t want to give my kid(s) away that early. I want to teach them things. I want them to stay home with me.

And I want to go to the things they go to, whether it’s speech lessons, English lessons (remember, we’re moving so they’ll already know Hebrew), music lessons, swimming lessons, okay, you take my meaning, right?

Not to be a stage mommy. But to be a part of their lives.

And while I’ve not ever raised a child, I must say that I weigh in on the rather conservative side of things.

I’m not a religious I’m-going-to-homeschool attachment parenting baby wearer. Not that there is anything at all wrong with any of those viewpoints, it’s just not me.

I don’t want my babies to sleep in my bed. In all honesty, I’d kick out the hubby if I could get away with it. I want my kids to go to a regular school. I plan on letting them cry it out.

But sending them to preschool at 2 1/2 years? Are you kidding me? That’s practically infancy?! Can they even hold their heads up by then (okay, kidding, but you get my concern)?!

Is this the norm? Just so they can get accepted to Harvard?

— A very concerned Kirby (who hopes Rachel will tell her it’s not like this in Israel)

PS — I got into Harvard and I didn’t go to preschool. I stayed home with my mum. And I have dyslexia. 🙂 So there preschool!

5 responses to “Wait, what?

  1. Nah, I’m with you. 2 1/2 yrs old seems young to me for preschool. But then again, I tend to be conservative, and plan on being home with my kids… and having them home with me until kindergarten.

  2. The Town Criers

    I live in D.C. It is scary around here and even when I was little there was the “right” nursery school that would “catapult” you into the “right” college. But I’ve seen stuff like this elsewhere too. It feels like a trend now for kids to go to school earlier and earlier.

  3. I think most moms put their kids somewhere when they go back to work – frequently at 12 weeks(!).

    Preschool here starts at 3, but you can easily keep your child home until age 5, when they start kindergarten.

    Personally, somewhere shortly before 18 months, when the kids start tearing the house apart, I’m ready for them to go do that elsewhere… My 2-year-old goes to a woman who cares for her from 8 to 2 each day. Ohad & I both feel it’s been to her advantage. OTOH, since she turned 1, I have been home with her very needy little sister who, in addition to needing to be held 95% of her waking moments, is also allergic to everything and needs to be watched very carefully so she doesn’t accidentally find a crumb somewhere and shove it into her mouth (so far so good).

  4. Just stumbled upon your blog and added you to my faves- Youre a good read 🙂 And I mean that in a good way!

  5. As a parent & teacher of 2 year olds, I can tell you there are two sides to the coin, and I think it mostly boils down to whether the parent/caregiver at home will put the right energy into days with the kids, as well as finding the right school.

    Some parents keep their 2 yr olds at home, but are not actively engaging and socializing with them. Most of the comments to the post were parents from teh right approach! A child absolutely does not need preschool if you spend your time in a positive way, connecting, engaging, playing, loving, interacting, paying attention, as well as taking them on errands, on outings, to the library, to the park, etc.

    Some parents are just not that into it, and then those kids could benefit from a few hours a week of a good toddler program. WHich means: possibly 1, 2, or 3 days a week, for 2 hours at a stretch. (Which is how I teach.) A preschool for kids at 2 or 3 yrs. should be considered ENRICHMENT – giving the things the parent may not have the time for.

    I think it’s fair to say that ideally a parent should provide rather than “buy” the enrichment.

    (As for those who spout “socialization issues”, which sometimes ARE a problem, a committed parent can avoid this by having regular playdates etc.)

Leave a Reply

