What did you do Friday night?

In hindsight, it was just Aunt Flo making a shabbos visit. And that makes me feel really dumb now. My doc and nurse didn’t give me any heads up on any symptoms I might feel after stopping the shots cold turkey. And especially if any of them might be an issue for which I should seek medical attention.

Since I hadn’t been touched in a bad way by a doc in nearly three days, I felt it necessary to go to the ER on Friday night.

I started feeling really sick: shortness of breath, couldn’t take a deep breath, bad headache, massively swollen feet and ankles, numbness in my feet, and then bloody discharge. Given that I had just ovulated on what my docs said was likely Monday, it seemed a little unlikely I would have my period.

I freaked. I was convinced it was a hemorrage. We went to the hospital.

A CT scan, complete bloodwork panel, one liter of IV fluid and a pregnancy test later (BFN of course), it was decided I was fine. But the whole experience was unreal. Let me explain…

I do not expect the vast majority of doctors to understand the nuances of infertility, or for that matter, obstetrics and gynecology. I do not expect them to understand what Luveris and Lupron are. Or what the expected side effects of stopping a fairly aggressive protocol of hormone injections.

But I think any one wearing a white coat should have a modicum of basic medical knowledge. For example…

You should know what IVF stands for. Not the nitty gritty of injections and transfers. Just that it actually means In Vitro Fertilization.

You should know that people do IVF to get pregnant. That’s generally what it means when people list “treatment for infertility” on their admitting chart.

And for the love of all things, you should know that when someone is feeling really ill after stopping hormone injections, enough so that they marched into your ER, it would probably be good to look up the side effects of a canceled IVF cycle. On the Internet if you must. Because I could have done a better job treating myself in that hospital than he did.

For example: how about a CT of my abdomen instead of my chest? Because if I’m short of breath, it’s likely because of my womanly bits, not my lungs.

And no, I probably don’t need the bloodwork to check for anemia, since I’ve been throwing back prenatal vitamins like they’re dinner mints for several weeks now.

And please, please, don’t tell me to go home and call my RE. You see, my RE is a bitch who doesn’t really care if I am okay or not. And she puts absolutely no faith in anything I think is going on in my body β€” like when I said last Sunday, “Hey, I think I’m about to ovulate.” You all know how that ended.

And if I really thought it was enough to call my doc, I would have. But I didn’t. I came to the ER. So here’s an idea – how about YOU call my doc?

And finally. Don’t ask me if “there is any chance I could be pregnant” right before you hit the start button on the CT machine. We’re being treated for infertility, which means it’s not likely, but for the love of God, yes, THERE IS A CHANCE I COULD HAVE BEEN PREGNANT, JACKASS.

Anyhoo. We got home at 4 a.m. Saturday. It wasn’t the best way to spend shabbat, though the nurses and CT tech were amazingly kind and totally got it (evidently there is a very high incidence of infertility in the ER nursing population here in the small town. Word has it they go to Baltimore for treatment).

And no, please don’t give me a pregnancy test at 2 a.m. after pumping a liter of fluids into my arm when I’m telling you I just ovulated a few days before. There is no way in hell that’s going to be positive, even if pregnancy is imminent. Which it isn’t. Aunt Flo is definitely here.

And now: an extra-special edition of dumb things I’m doing right now!

Instead of doing an IUI cycle, we’re going to do a DIY medicated home nookie cycle. Which is where you self-prescribe the vast quantities of medicine left over from your previous IVF cycle and then have sex.

Before you jump on me and say “Are you nuts? Do you have any idea what a bad idea that is,” I was told I would be doing most of the medicated IUI cycle without monitoring anyhoo. So this is actually safer in my opinion, since sex is less successful that AI, and therefore you would think we would less risk of multiples. That said, it’s a complete crapshoot and I might really regret it in a few weeks.

The only real difference? I haven’t told anyone except the hubby and this blog that I’m doing this. And unless something goes horrifically wrong or we get pregnant, I don’t intend to tell anyone.

I started Lupron tonight. 10 units at 6 p.m. I’m going to start stims next Sunday, but probably not decrease the Lupron that much. I will go easy on the stims (150 units of GonalF and 75 of Luveris), with trigger shot that Friday. We will make like rabbits and see what happens.

Of course, if at any time I don’t feel well, I will take appropriate medical assistance and stop.

I’m eager to hear how batshit insane you think I am for doing this. Alternately, if anyone thinks its an interesting idea (or gasp! you thought about it too), I’d love to hear that too.

7 responses to “What did you do Friday night?

  1. Mary Ellen and Steve

    I am sorry about your trip to the ER!

    Being the admitted self-medicater that I am, I have no right to offer any assvice on this topic. All I have to say is good luck and be careful!

  2. Oh what the hell…sounds like you know which end of the Lupron vial is up. As a nurse and an admitted self-medicator, I can’t pass any judgement either. Just remember to call the clinic if something (ANYTHING) seems like it’s wrong. Best luck!

  3. I’m sorry about the trip to the ER too. It’s really too bad that you feel your RE is so poor that you couldn’t call her. I guess that’s another good reason to be moving!

    I’d be scared to do a self-medicated cycle. I’ve done injectibles four times, and ended up in the hospital with severe OHSS three times. One of my cycles was supposed to be only injectibles, but had to be converted to IVF because I was growing too many follicles at the same rate. These are the sorts of things you wouldn’t have a good handle on unless you had monitoring. That said, so far, your body hasn’t tended to over-react, so you’re probably safer than me. But it could still end up be a waste of expensive drugs that you could save for your next IVF cycle because you end up triggering too soon since you don’t know how big your follicles are. Worse, you could end up with too many follicles and have a dangerous multiple pregnancy. If you don’t want to do the IUI, you could still do basically a DYI cycle, but include the doctor in on some monitoring visits so you can time the trigger properly and make sure your E2 levels and follicle growth are okay. Good luck whatever you decide.

  4. sorry to hear you had to spend part of the weekend in the ER, but glad to hear you are okay. it’s so frustrating to be sick and seeking help only to find out that you know more about your body than the professionals do…
    while i’ve no advice to offer, i worry about you doing a self-medicated cycle. Samantha’s comment only reinforces that for me….

  5. I agree with Samantha. I also suffered from severe OHSS that would make your trip to ER a walk in the park. I had more than 1 litre of fluids drained from my abdomen and the procedure was made without any kind of anesthetic. After that I was monitored to see if the fluids wouldn’t collect in my lungs. All the OHSS symptoms showed up very fast. One day i was uncomfortable but ok. The next day I was in excruciating pains, bleeding, unable to walk, breath, pee, talk and scared to death. I was in the same drug protocol that you’re planning to do and have never had problems before. Good luck.
    ML

  6. The Town Criers

    I think it’s batshit insane, but I say that in a loving voice as I hug you. If you’re going to be careful and you would turn yourself in if you start to worry, it sounds like you’re on an okay path. Okay being the operative word. I’m a big fan of monitoring. Just to not inflict irreversible damage on ovaries. I say these words with love and to be careful.

  7. Can’t say I didn’t think about it when the RE put me on the bench for 2 months after our ectopic adventure. πŸ™‚

    I didn’t do it, mostly cause I wasn’t feeling 100%.

    No assvice here, just know from whence you come. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

