"Conquering Infertility"

Or, “Why your husband just doesn’t get it.” *

Okay, so I read the book. Didn’t really enjoy it. Didn’t really get much out of it.

Have I clearly missed something? The relaxation exercises only helped me fall asleep while I was reading it.

You know what would help me fall asleep at night? Being pregnant with twins.

(Okay, I think that was the lupron talking.)

And I don’t really feel as though there were any earth-shattering revelations. And the whole overtone had a bit of an infomercial feel. As in, if you come take one of my overpriced classes, you’ll be able to sleep at night.

Right β€” cause if there’s two things a woman in the midst of an IVF cycle has a surplus of, it’s money and the ability/time to travel.

To hell with coping strategies. I’m sticking with my chocolate and gradually escalating attacks on my husband.

And I’m joining the Barren Bitches Brigade. Want to join me?

* In all fairness, my hubby rocks my world. He is a generally good guy and has been good about taking care of me through the nightmare that is IVF. That said, he really freaking doesn’t get it. And if I have to explain one more time about how we really can’t know in advance when ER will be, that boy’s going to get a swift PIO in the ass. How do you like them apples?

Off topic: Let’s learn Hebrew together! Does anyone know how to say:

“How do you like them apples?”

And what is the word for “epidural”? I’m getting that on a t-shirt.

I know, I should probably be focused on the words for apartment, movers, resume, employment, and “please do not evict us, we are poor,” but I’ve been known to put the wagon before the horse. Just read the post about the spreadsheet.

4 responses to “"Conquering Infertility"

  1. The Town Criers

    Congratulations, congratulations, congratulations (yes, it really did warrant saying it three times) on making aliyah.

    Are you really joining the book tour? Can I put you on the list? Yay!

  2. Mary Ellen and Steve

    I wasn’t really a fan of that book either.

  3. Hmmm…
    M’ain at ohevet zot ha’tapuach (im? ot?)?

    I don’t know apples in the plural. ‘course, I don’t know if that sentence is even close to being correct, either πŸ˜‰

  4. ma im hatapuchim ha’eleh – more or less anyway.
    I wouldn’t actually use that expression in Israel, since I am guessing it just won’t go. It would be like trying to translate “al ha panim” (on the face) into an expression in English.
    Good luck in Israel. Good luck with the IVF.

Leave a Reply

