Life lessons learned

So, you might remember the offhand note in a recent post about coloring my hair. It went a little something like this:

“And I am going to bleach my hair until it’s really blond. Do any of my frumsters out there do crazy ass stuff with their hair since no one can see it?”

Which prompted a barrage of e-mail on how I’m not supposed to do this while we’re counting the omer. For the record, I’m coloring it, not cutting it, and have been told by a Rav this is okay. Thanks though for your fears for my immortal soul.

Moving right along. The picture on the box was of a Cameron Diaz-esqe color. That is not quite what I got out of it.

The color my hair adopted was not something seen in nature. As the not-so-subtle hubby put it:

“Is that what they meant by blond?”

So I spent motzi shabbos rectifying the situation. It is browner now. Not what it was before, but I no longer look like a two-bit whore either. Baby steps, I guess you could say.

In other news, I took my last BCP. Hopefully this means my tryst with the Pepto will soon be at an end. Stims start on Friday, so it should make for an eventful weekend!

Check back with me tomorrow when I (finally) answer all the e-mail and comments. There will be some other big news too, or so we hope.

3 responses to “Life lessons learned

  1. Wow! I didn’t realize that cutting your hair could send you to eternal damnation! I love messing with my hair and trying different things. You are brave for color! I am scared of color, I am always scared that I will hate it and end up damaging my hair fixing it!!
    You should post a pic!!!
    A

  2. Mary Ellen and Steve

    I love coloring my hair. Of course I would never have the nerve to do it myself. I would inevitably screw it up. Horray for your last BCP!

  3. My sister (who covers her hair) colored hers a bright red (or so she says, I haven’t seen it) because her husband likes it that way… I, on the other hand, don’t cover my hair, but am not brave enough to color it – I kinda figure that in 10 years or less I’m going to *have to* color it, so I might as well enjoy its natural color now.

    OTOH, I colored my son’s hair for Purim. I took a box of platinum blonde(he’s got dark brown hair) and left it on like they said. It came out a beautiful copper color … My mom was horrified, but I thought it was hilarious (he’s almost 11 and he was all for it).

    Happy Yom Ha’Atzmaut!

Leave a Reply

