Okay, now I’m sad

Trying to find out more about Luveris. From the life lines Web site:

Luveris® is the first and only recombinant human luteinizing hormone (r–hLH) approved in the world. Now Luveris® is available in the US for concomitant use with Gonal–f® (follitropin alfa for injection) to stimulate follicular development in profoundly LH–deficient hypogonadotropic hypogonadal (HH) women (LH < 1.2 IU/L).

Umm, WTF? Profoundly LH-deficient? If that’s actually the case, shouldn’t I know about it?

And wouldn’t that have precluded me from ever having a positive OPK?

6 responses to “Okay, now I’m sad

  1. It seems to me that lots of RE’s give LH along with stims. It doesn’t necessarily have to do with being “profoundly LH deficient”. It just helps with stimulation or with egg quality in some patients.

  2. Yea, well… the progesterone I took said “swallow…” and that wasn’t what I was told to do with it 🙂

    Sara is probably right on.

  3. i wouldn’t worry too much about the drug monograph. you’re RE is probably just covering all of her bases.

  4. My RE prescribes LH as a matter of course along with the FSH. I doubt it has anything to do with you.

  5. Same here on the LH. In naturally occuring egg production/ovulation, there is LH present in lower concentrations with the FSH. When you are on Lupron you are so supressed that you won’t make it (of course, so you don’t ovulate until they say so). Some have found better outcomes combining FSH with a little LH, giving the ovum a slightly more natural hormone bath while they are “cooking.” I will tell you that It wasn’t until my 6th cycle when the RE added some LH to my protocol that I actually had a baby.

  6. Mary Ellen and Steve

    I think that the others are probably right. I took LH and I haven’t heard anything about being LH deficient. Good luck to you.

Leave a Reply

