Readers write

First off, thanks to everyone for not voting me off the frum fertility blogger island. Your comments made me feel tons better and I’m really looking forward to putting faces to names someday.

Next up, answering your comments:

Rona Michalson writes:

“Mazal tov on the approval for aliya. I hope the Nefesh B’Nefesh application works out well. Remember, a lot of us successfully made aliya before they came into existence. Make sure to be in touch when you get to Modi’in. You will be very welcome here. No one is standing around here judging others (and if you find someone who is, well, it’s really their problem, not yours). You can write me offline because I would like to give you my take on the conversion in Israel issue.”

Todah rabbah. Of course people did great and made aliyah happily and successfully before Nefesh B Nefesh. There’s only one big issue here that makes NBN crucial.

I hate to say it, but: money. There is no way we can pull it off without a grant from NBN. It will be tough even with that, but if we can just get a little help, I know we can make it happen. That said, our shaliach is busting her butt to get me employment soon after we move to make the whole thing an easier process. If anyone knows of any job leads in technical writing, web or print design, web programming, or your garden-variety journalism, I’d kindly appreciate the info. And I’ll get back to you about the conversion in Israel stuff. I could definitely use some advice.

Rachel “my hero” Inbar writes:

“Sounds unnerving… When b”H you cycle for your next baby in Israel, I can guarantee you won’t be travelling 2-1/2 hours each way.”

So true. That is unless I decide to cycle in say, Turkey.

Projgen said:

“My clinic always got preliminary stuff wrong – why I was there, who I was seeing, why I was calling, etc., etc. The “important” stuff they never got wrong. Usually it just took a quick reminder for them to glance at my file again and say, “oh, right.” But when it was actually time for retrieval and transfer, everybody knew exactly what was going on, and got it all right!”

How sad/strange is it that even if we ended up having someone else’s kid, I’d be totally okay with that. I just want kids.

Julie, as in the rockstar A Little Pregnant Julie, said:

“Egad, I am more flattered than I can say. Thank you so much for your kind words! I hope the influence of your friends inside the computer turns out to have a wonderful payoff — say, about 7 pounds 8 ounces worth.”

7 lbs 8 ounces would be great. Unless we get double coupon day in my ute in which case I would prefer a good 12 pounds.

Rachdas said:

“As far as I know, the issue of not having baby items in your home has to do with ayin ha’ra, which has nothing to do with halacha… My parents said that they chose not to bring things into the house for fear that something would go wrong and they would come home to new baby stuff and no baby… it wasn’t for halachik reasons at all. B”H, I know of many healthy babies born to people who have bought things in advance :-)”

So true. As two friends have lost the pregnancies well after the first trimester, I’ve realized that although the 12 weeks is a nice guideline, you’re not out of the woods until your baby is at home and healthy.

The weird thing is, I think that once I get pregnant I’ll stop buying baby stuff. So far it doesn’t feel like anything we have is for a particular baby — it’s just for the future. Or as the hubby says in his sports lingo, a yet-to-be-named draft pick. It would be pretty weird to buy stuff for a baby I’m actually pregnant with — as in “hey you in there, this is going to be your new boppy cover.” I actually get weirded out just imagining it.

So fellow frummies, this frummie-in-training is asking for your opinion. I’m going to try and post a poll and I hope you’ll respond.

That’s about it for now. Thanks for all your comments and for reading my rants and raves.

One response to “Readers write

  1. Rachdas and Rachel Inbar are actually one and the same. I just have too many logins to keep track of 🙂

Leave a Reply

