Yay! My period!

Betcha didn’t expect to see that on the IF blog.

This is the first time in a long time I’ve been pleased to welcome Aunt Flo into our humble abode.

Actually, come to think of it, this might be the first time ever. But I digress.

Today is CD1 and I’m a happy camper. No tears today, unlike other months. Actually, there were still tears but they were completely unrelated to babymaking and the lack of success. Instead, I got a good cry from watching “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition.” It makes me cry every week, but more so when ye olde periode is just around the corner.

I’m all excited this go around because I actually feel our chances are better for conception this month, thanks to the wonders of modern medical science. And for the first time in a very long time, I actually feel as though I’m doing something to help our chances. And I really hope and pray this might be the last time she visits for a good long time — IY”H.

I’m back to being a good girl with the prenatal vitamins and folic acid — I don’t absorb it well, so I have been told to take extra. Supposedly in Britain they take 4 mg instead of 400 mcg. Maybe it’s because they have less fortified foods? Anyhoo. I’m taking 4 mg too and so far so good.

If anyone has any other tips for how to prepare for treatment, I’d really appreciate hearing them. I know to invest in a nifty pair of socks (any suggestions?) and that my iPod would be good to bring along to keep the old blood pressure stable during the actual procedure.

Other than that, do you get good drugs for an IUI? I know it’s far less involved than ER and ET, but maybe just a Tylenol with codeine for shits and giggles?

Any lasting side effects, other than possible pregnancy, that I should know about?

One response to “Yay! My period!

  1. IUI is really not more uncomfortable than a pap smear… I have some tips on my site (like take a pack of baby wipes and remember to shave your legs) but medication is really not necessary.

    One thing you might notice is some cramping in the first few days – it’s normal & doesn’t have anything to do with the outcome.

    Lots of luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

