At least I think I’m funny

Random notes from our meeting with the RE:

They took my picture with a polaroid camera to put in my file. That way, when I call and have questions about anything in the process, the theory is that the nurse will be nicer to me when she can put a face with a voice.

Jackass that I am, I asked the doc if she was going to take a picture of my cervix so she would remember me when I called.

Talk about an awkward silence. Time goes slowly when you’re on your back with your feet in stirrups. At least I think I’m funny.

****

When the doc called me back on Friday, I was at the grocery store with the hubby picking up a few things for Shabbat dinner. She asked if I was in a place where I could talk, and I said sure. With Shabbos starting in a couple hours, there was no way I was going to miss the news about hubby’s latest contribution to the war effort. Which lead to the least tzniusdik conversation I’ve had in as long as I can remember.

I proceeded to confirm the details of my hubby’s semen analysis and the upcoming IUI while standing in front of the hummus near the deli.

You know how you have the ability to block out everything around you when you’re receiving really important news over the phone? Yeah, well, the poor schmuck you married doesn’t. There was much eye rolling and stunned facial expressions, but I’m sure he’ll forgive me some day.

At least the results made him out to be quite the manly man. 🙂

3 responses to “At least I think I’m funny

  1. New to your blog- hi!

    That is my biggest fear- that the doctor will call me while I’m in a very public place. I have had many a phone call sitting outside a store in my car. For this reason, I usually end up wandering around my apartment, afraid to leave, when I’m expecting a call from the doctor.

  2. I’ve just given up. I don’t care where I am anymore. And if people overhear and wonder why I’m talking in anagrams and mentioning “how many straws of sperm to thaw?” well, that’s just their problem, isn’t it?

  3. I think you’re freaking hilarious! Dr. Laughsalot needs to grow a sense of humour! (My RE would have laughed at that one, for sure!)

    I’ve also given up trying to keep my phone conversations about infertility quiet. People who really want the details can have ’em. And if they don’t want the details, they should STEP AWAY!

Leave a Reply

